Recognising the Passion of All Fans

All fans recognised for their passion and support in a tough year


All fans have been recognised for their passion, support, and patience by the AFL Fans Association, which has awarded all supporters across Australia its Fan of the Year award.

With the 2020 season severely disrupted, most fans did not get to support their clubs as they would have liked, and many did not get to attend any games.

Instead, they had to watch from home on TV. Cheer squads did not get to make banners and Victorian fans did not get to ‘go above and beyond’ as they usually do.

“We’ve never seen a season like this,” says AFLFA president Gerry Eeman. “While we did see lots of colour and great barracking at some games, many fans did not have a chance to contribute. 

“Fans who were unable to attend games showed admirable patience and continued to support their teams from home. The overwhelming majority of members also retained their memberships, regardless of whether they got to attend games. Their dedication and patience in the face of such a difficult situation were incredible. For that reason, we have decided to recognise all fans this year.”

Previous winners

Fan of the Year: Megan Harris, Rainbow Crows Secretary and Events Coordinator, and Official Crows Support Group Committee Member and Match Day Property Coordinator 
Supporter Group of the Year: Side by Side Fan Page

Female Fan of the Year: Colleen McKaye, Crows Supporters Group (cheer squad)*
Male Fan of the Year: Shaun Dux, The Demon Army
Supporter Group of the Year: The Demon Army (cheer squad) 

Female Fan of the Year: Annie Green (Adelaide Crows Supporters Group)
Male Fan of the Year: 
Ryan Sinclair (Demon Army)
Supporter Group of the Year: 
The Demon Army

Female Fan of the Year: 
Jan Courtin (Sydney Swans)
Male Fan of the Year: 
Robert Smith (Adelaide Crows Supporters group)
Supporter Group of the Year: 
The Adelaide Crows Supports Group (Cheer Squad) and Essendon Cheer Squad

Female Fan of the Year: 
Lesley Benham (Collingwood)
Male Fan of the Year: 
Liam Briggs (Port Adelaide Cheer Squad)
Supporter Group of the Year: 
The Alberton Crowd (Port Adelaide)
*In 2019 the AFLFA combined the male and female awards to create one non-gendered award.

More details: AFLFA president Gerry Eeman on 0403 938 484. Email: or