AFL Fans Association committee re-elected

The AFL Fans Association held its first Annual General Meeting last night, with 5 of the 6 existing committee re-elected. Secretary David Sandlers stood down for family reasons and a new committee member, lawyer Tim Guy, was elected.

Those present, aided by 164 proxy votes, helped re-elect the current committee as follows: Gerry Eeman (president) Cheryl Critchley (vice president) Ron Issko (treasurer) Debbie Hall (secretary) Brenda Boland (committee member) New committee member: Tim Guy

Brett "Trout" Beattie will continue as an AFLFA Ambassador, as will Jeff "Joffa" Corfe, who was unable to attend. Gerry thanked them and IT volunteer Mark Davis for their significant contribution.

The meeting outlined the AFLFA’s achievements since it was formed in 2013, including exposing the inequity of variable pricing, organising a petition against it, taking the AFL to the ACCC over changed membership conditions related to variable pricing, meeting with the AFL on several issues, developing a Facebook and website presence, securing interstate representatives and creating a media profile.

Those present voted to maintain the organisation’s free membership, but discussed the possibility of members being able to make donations to help cover the AFLFA’s costs as a voluntary group.

"Our first AGM was a significant step forward for us as an organisation," Gerry says. "The AFLFA has already had an impact and its actions last year contributed to this year’s improved scheduling, reduced food prices and fan-friendly initiatives such as kick-to-kick. We thank all fans for their contribution to these debates, which really made a difference.

"But there is much to be done. Home and away reserved seat ticket prices are still too high and too few competing club members have access to Grand Final tickets. We will be working hard to raise these and other issues on behalf of all AFL fans. We also hope to provide them with an even stronger voice as we grow."

AFLFA membership is free and fans are encouraged to join by clicking here. For more information contact: AFLFA president Gerry Eeman on email: